Previous Next

Subpart 11.6—Priorities and Allocations

11.600  Scope of subpart.

This subpart implements the Defense Priorities and Allocations System (DPAS), a Department of Commerce (DOC) regulation in support of authorized national defense programs (see 15 CFR 700).

11.601  Definitions.

As used in this subpart—

“Authorized program” means a program approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for priorities and allocations support under the Defense Production Act of 1950, as amended (50 U.S.C. App. 2061, et seq.), to promote the national defense. Schedule I of the DPAS lists currently authorized programs.

“Controlled materials” means the various shapes and forms of steel, copper, aluminum, and nickel alloys specified in Schedule II, and defined in Schedule III, of the DPAS.

“Delegate Agency” means an agency of the U.S. Government authorized by delegation from DOC to place priority ratings on contracts that support authorized programs. Schedule I of the DPAS lists the Delegate Agencies.

“Rated order” means a prime contract for any product, service, or material (including controlled materials) placed by a Delegate Agency under the provisions of the DPAS in support of an authorized program and which require preferential treatment, and includes subcontracts and purchase orders resulting under such contracts.

11.602  General.

(a) Under Title I of the Defense Production Act of 1950, as amended (50 U.S.C. App. 2061, et seq.), the President is authorized—

(1) To require that contracts in support of the national defense be accepted and performed on a preferential or priority basis over all other contracts, and

(2) To allocate materials and facilities in such a manner as to promote the national defense.

(b) The Office of Industrial Resource Administration (OIRA), DOC, is responsible for administering and enforcing a system of priorities and allocations to carry out Title I of the Defense Production Act for industrial items. The DPAS has been established to promote the timely availability of the necessary industrial resources to meet current national defense requirements and to provide a framework to facilitate rapid industrial mobilization in case of national emergency.

(c) The Delegate Agencies (see Schedule I of the DPAS) have been given authority by DOC to place rated orders in support of authorized programs. Other government agencies, Canada, and other friendly foreign nations may apply for special rating authority in support of authorized programs (see 15 CFR 700.55).

(d) Rated orders shall be placed in accordance with the procedures in the DPAS. Contracting officers responsible for acquisitions in support of authorized programs shall be familiar with the DPAS and should provide guidance on the DPAS to contractors and suppliers receiving rated orders. Agency heads shall ensure compliance with the DPAS by contracting activities within their agencies.

(e) Under the Defense Production Act, any willful violation of the Act, the DPAS, or any official action taken by DOC under the DPAS, is a crime punishable by a maximum fine of $10,000, one year in prison, or both (see 15 CFR 700.70 and 15 CFR 700.74).

11.603  Procedures.

(a) There are two levels of priority for rated orders established by the DPAS, identified by the rating symbols “DO” and “DX.” All DO rated orders have equal priority with each other and take preference over unrated orders. All DX rated orders have equal priority with each other and take preference over DO rated and unrated orders. DX ratings are used for special defense programs designated by the President to be of the highest national priority.

(b) DOC may issue a Directive to compel a contractor or supplier to accept a rated order, to rearrange production or delivery schedules, or to improve shipments against particular rated orders. Directives issued by DOC take precedence over all rated and unrated orders as stated in the Directive.

(c) In addition to any other contractual requirements, a valid rated order must contain (see 15 CFR 700.12) the following:

(1) A priority rating consisting of the appropriate DO or DX rating symbol and a program or identification symbol to indicate the authorized program (see Schedule I of the DPAS).

(2) A required delivery date or delivery dates.

(3) The signature of an individual authorized by the agency to sign rated orders.

(d) The DPAS has the following three basic elements which are essential to the operation of the system:

(1) Mandatory acceptance of rated orders. A rated order shall be accepted by a contractor or supplier unless rejected for the reasons provided for mandatory rejection in 15 CFR 700.13(b), or for optional rejection in 15 CFR 700.13(c).

(2) Mandatory extension of priority ratings throughout the acquisition chain. Contractors and suppliers receiving rated orders shall extend priority ratings to subcontractors or vendors when acquiring items to fill the rated orders (see 15 CFR 700.15).

(3) Priority scheduling of production and delivery. Contractors and suppliers receiving rated orders shall give the rated orders priority over other contracts as needed to meet delivery requirements (see 15 CFR 700.14).

(e) Agencies shall provide contracting activities with specific guidance on the issuance of rated orders in support of agency programs.

(f) Contracting officers shall follow agency procedural instructions concerning the use of rated orders in support of agency programs.

(g) Contracting officers, contractors, or subcontractors at any tier, that experience difficulty placing rated orders, obtaining timely delivery under rated orders, locating a contractor or supplier to fill a rated order, ensuring that rated orders receive preferential treatment by contractors or suppliers, or require rating authority for items not automatically ratable under the DPAS, should promptly seek special priorities assistance in accordance with agency procedures (see 15 CFR 700.50-55).

(h) Contracting officers shall report promptly any violations of the DPAS to DOC in accordance with agency procedures.

11.604  Solicitation provision and contract clause.

(a) Contracting officers shall insert the provision at 52.211-14, Notice of Priority Rating for National Defense Use, in solicitations when the contract to be awarded will be a rated order.

(b) Contracting officers shall insert the clause at 52.211-15, Defense Priority and Allocation Requirements, in contracts that are rated orders.

Previous Next