501.671 Program and Project Managers (P/PM).

      (a) General. The Federal Acquisition Certification for Program and Project Managers (FAC-P/PM) core certification program certifies program and project managers at three levels: Entry, Mid and Senior. This certification program is based upon a competency model of performance outcomes which measures the knowledge, skills and abilities gained by program and project managers through professional training, job experience and continuous learning. Program and Project Managers (P/PMs) are critical to project success, including developing accurate government requirements and managing life-cycle activities to ensure that intended outcomes are achieved. Information about FAC-P/PM is available at https://www.fai.gov/ and GSA’s Acquisition Portal at https://insite.gsa.gov/acquisitionportal.

      (b) FAC-P/PM Certification.All employees, regardless of their series, must be certified (FAC-P/PM) at the appropriate level (Level I, II or III) in order to be assigned as a program manager, project lead or integrated project team (IPT) lead. HCAs determine the certification level required for an acquisition. Any program manager for a major acquisition, including major programs as defined by OMB Circular A-11, must be Level III certified.

      (c) FAC-P/PM-IT Specialization.

           (1) Applicability. The FAC-P/PM-IT Specialization is required for all GSA P/PMs and IPT leads who support the following covered projects and programs:

                (i)IT projects or programs included in the GSA IT Dashboard https://itdashboard.gov/drupal/summary/023, meaning they have been designated as major IT investments by the GSA Chief Information Officer;

                (ii)IT projects or programs identified by GSA’s IT Capital Planning and Investment Control (CPIC) team as a major investment and shared with the Acquisition Career Manager; or

                (iii)IT projects or programs designated by HCA as major or mission critical.

           (2) Certification requirements. Any GSA employee pursuing the FAC-P/PM-IT must first hold a mid or senior level FAC-P/PM Certification (Levels II or III).

      (d) Timeframe. Any GSA employee assigned to perform P/PM or P/PM-IT duties are required to obtain a certification within 12 months of project assignment.

      (e) Application process.

           (1)Applicants are responsible for preparing an application package for submission electronically through GSA's Career Management System, including the application form and copies of relevant training certificates.

           (2)The supervisor is responsible for verifying the accuracy and completeness of the application package in GSA's Career Management System.

      (f) Waivers.

           (1)Waivers to extend the timeframe in paragraph (d) of this section will only be granted for exceptional and compelling circumstances for a period not to exceed 12 months.

           (2)FAC-P/PM-IT waivers are not transferable to other agencies.

           (3)Waiver requests shall be submitted by the HCA to the OGP Acquisition Workforce Division for review and routing to the SPE.

           (4)The waiver request must address, at minimum all of the following–

                (i)the reason(s) for and proposed conditions of the waiver;

                (ii)the amount of time needed for the individual to obtain the certification; and

                (iii)the plan to complete the training requirements.