Skip to main content

Civilian Agency Acquisition Council (CAAC)

CAAC Regulatory Authorization

The Civilian Agency Acquisition Council (CAAC) is authorized under the Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) at 48 CFR Part 1 Subpart 1.2. The CAAC assists the Administrator of General Services in developing and maintaining the FAR through the rulemaking process.


The members of the CAAC are senior procurement professionals with substantial experience in Federal procurement. The CAAC is chaired by a representative of the Administrator of the General Services Administration and is comprised of a representative designated by each of the following departments and agencies:

  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Department of the Interior
  • Department of Justice
  • Department of Labor
  • Department of State
  • Department of Transportation
  • Department of Treasury
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Small Business Administration
  • Social Security Administration
  • U.S. Agency for International Development

Representatives of the Office of Advocacy and the Small Agency Council participate in the review of FAR rules at the CAAC. Additional coordination with the Federal Acquisition Institute (FAI) and the Integrated Award Environment (IAE) is also conducted when appropriate.